“Blue” Series by Lisa Glass

Synopsis (SPOILERS ALERT):

(Blue) “Surfing is sixteen-year-old Iris’s world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion. Over one amazing summer, as she is drawn into his sphere, she experiences love, new friendships, but also loss, with an intensity she never dreamed of. But is Zeke all he seems? What hides beneath his glamorous and mysterious past? When Iris decides to try for her own surfing success, just as her ex-boyfriend comes back into her life, she will test her talent, and her feelings for Zeke, to the limit…Being in a relationship with one of the hottest and most talented male surfers on the circuit is a dream come true… right?”

(Air) “Iris and Zeke get to travel to the most beautiful beaches in the world, competing in major surf competitions. Life should be perfect, but when Zeke is suspended from a surf tour in Hawaii, it’s clear there is some deep trouble in paradise. And then there’s Zeke’s romantic past: at every turn Iris is confronted by his old flames and his hordes of female fans. Returning to Newquay, Iris finds that at home things have also changed. Her friends have moved on with their lives, and they sense Iris is keeping something – something bad – from them. What really happened in Hawaii? Why was Zeke kicked off the circuit? And what secret is tearing Iris and Zeke’s relationship apart?”

(Ride) “The final instalment in this irresistible story of romance, sun and surf.
Seventeen-year-old Iris has returned to her hometown of Newquay. Leaving behind her promising surfing career. Leaving behind Zeke, the boy who changed her world.
She’s happy to get back to her old life, her friends and family. She wants to rediscover her passion for surfing. But Iris soon realises it won’t be that simple. Because while summer romances might only last the season, first loves never truly leave you.”

  • All Synopsis’ cited from Goodreads

I initially picked up this book as I was interested in the depiction of Newquay, living in Cornwall myself, despite my reservations that the book may be too “tween” for me at the time. However, as a teenager reading this when it was released I got fairly hooked on the story of Zeke and Iris and ended up reading the last book in the series in one sitting just anticipating the ending! The trilogy by Lisa Glass follows the story of Iris, a young surfer from Cornwall who meets professional surfer Zeke and how their shared passion for surfing as well as typical teenager problems (sex, drugs, family troubles etc) affect their relationship.

While reading both the first and second book I was studying for my A Level exams, (somewhat procrastinating instead of revising). I found the books a real welcomed alternative to heavy things I had been reading for my course during the time, as well as inspiring the summer mood I was hoping it would. While the first book was possibly more “teen” orientated for myself, I found the second and third books in the series more interesting in terms of the approach to normal teen issues which I’ve previously listed as well as the confrontation and secrets between the protagonists. This pushed the books into an “older teen” category in my eyes purely due to the exposure to elder reader’s issues. These are addressed however and its nice to see Iris’ maturation throughout the series.

The passion for surfing and the lifestyle Glass portrays utterly sums up Newquay for myself, which I both find nostalgic and partially moving. The way Glass writes projects her own passion for the sea and Cornwall within her work which truly was the best element of the series in my opinion.

Ultimately I do find the series engaging, but I may be biased having been to the actual places that Glass has written about! Teen series like this are definitely my guilty pleasure (as you’ll find out in later reviews!). Despite this series being a little young for myself now, I would recommend it to any lovers of surfing, romance, comical play off between characters and especially those looking for a book to easily get into. As its now the lead up to summer it’ll definitely spark the summer vibes, especially if anyone is coming to Cornwall!

What does anyone else think to this book? Feel free to leave comments or contact me via Instagram. Have a great day xx

Leave a Reply

